Captions vs Kineo
Buy Captions if you want to edit — hands on the clip, styles you pick, generative elements you place. Buy Kineo if you want the decisions made for you and a finished Short back. We publish this page, so read the Captions column as their case and verify it at captions.ai/pricing, including the line saying its prices and features reflect iOS plans only.
The verdict
The free tiers are the most honest comparison on this page
Captions Free lists basic editing — trimming, transitions, media assets — and one caption template, with no AI credits and no generative AI features at all. Kineo: 10 free credits on signup with every engine unlocked, Kling 3 included. Trial films are watermarked; any paid plan unlocks clean downloads.
Captions is the more capable tool and the more expensive one
Max at $24.99/month for 500 credits buys curated AI Edit styles, AI actors and digital twins, a chat-based editor, 100+ caption templates and generative music, voiceover, images, video and b-roll. Kineo Starter is $9.90/month, for 60 credits. We are not going to pretend Kineo does most of that list, because it does not.
Kineo’s constraint is the whole product
One ratio per render, no timeline, no upload, no caption template picker. One typed topic in; script, AI voiceover, footage matched scene by scene to the narration lines, and burned-in captions out. If you want to place a cut or restyle a caption, that will read as a missing feature — and you would be right.
Credits mean unrelated things and the numbers do not compare
Captions spends credits across generative music, voiceover, images, video, b-roll and AI actors — 500 on Max up to 5,600 on Scale 4x at $279.99. Kineo spends credits by render engine: Kineo 1 5, Seedance 25, Kling 2.5 50, AI Presenter 70, Kling 3 150 credits per 60-second video. Kineo credits do not roll over between months, which is a real point against us if your output is lumpy.
Side by side
Every figure below was read off each vendor’s own pricing page on July 26, 2026. Where a tier table did not resolve to readable prices, the cell says so rather than guessing — a wrong competitor price is worse than no price at all.
| Captions | Kineo | |
|---|---|---|
| What it actually is | A mobile-first short-form editor built around captions, AI edit styles, AI actors and generative b-roll. | Turns one typed topic or a pasted production script into a finished faceless Short — AI voiceover, matched footage and captions. |
| Needs an existing video? | Mostly. You record or upload, then edit — though the generative features on paid tiers can produce footage, voiceover and images. | No footage is required. Start with a topic, or paste up to 1,000 characters of your own production script; there is no timeline to learn. |
| Free tier | Free plan: basic editing (trimming, transitions, media assets) and 1 caption template, with no AI credits and no generative AI features at all. | Every new account gets 10 credits and every engine unlocked — Kling 3 included. Films come out watermarked; a plan removes the watermark and unlocks clean downloads. |
| Cheapest paid plan | Max $24.99/month | Starter $9.90/month |
| Full pricing | Free $0 (no AI credits) · Max $24.99/mo (500 credits/mo, curated AI Edit styles, AI actors and digital twins, chat-based editor, 100+ caption templates, generative music, voiceover, images, video and b-roll) · Scale 1x $69.99/mo (1,400 credits) · Scale 2x $139.99/mo (2,800 credits) · Scale 4x $279.99/mo (5,600 credits) · Enterprise custom. The pricing page states that "Features and prices reflect iOS plans only". | Free (10 free credits, every engine, watermarked; then 1 Fast/mo) · Starter $9.90/mo, 60 credits ($99.00/year) · Creator $19.90/mo, 150 credits ($199.00/year) · Studio $39.90/mo, 300 credits ($399.00/year). Charged in USD worldwide. 7-day money-back guarantee. |
| Watermark | Not stated on the pricing page — worth confirming before you commit. | Watermarked on the free tier; every paid plan exports a clean, watermark-free MP4. |
| Aspect ratio | Short-form vertical. | 9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5 — each one generated natively in that frame, not cropped from a vertical master. Same price on every ratio. |
| Voice / narration | Generative voiceover is available on paid tiers; the free plan has no generative AI. | AI voiceover generated from the script, with a narrator voice matched to the subject. On Kling 3 and MiniMax H3 a character on screen can also speak the scripted line with lip sync, alternating with the narrator inside the same film. |
| Where the visuals come from | Media assets on free; generative b-roll and images from Max up. | Stock footage matched scene by scene to the actual voiceover lines, plus generative engines on higher tiers. |
| Export & usage limits | Credit-metered per month, from 500 credits on Max to 5,600 on Scale 4x. | Credit-metered per 60-second video: Kineo 1 5 credits, Seedance 25, MiniMax H3 45, Kling 2.5 50, AI Presenter 70, Kling 3 150, and Omni Flash (Google's #1-ranked video model, Aug 2026 arena) 150. Credits do not roll over between months. |
| Verified | Verified July 26, 2026 — read from https://www.captions.ai/pricing | Verified July 26, 2026 — read from https://www.usekineo.com/pricing |
Sources: Captions pricing · Kineo pricing — both checked on July 26, 2026. Vendors change tiers without notice, so confirm on their site before you pay. If you find something here that is out of date, we would rather fix it than keep the click.
Captions: The pricing page carries the line "All prices displayed in USD. Features and prices reflect iOS plans only," so plans reached from a desktop browser may differ.
Which one you should pick
Pick Captions if…
- You want to edit, and having the tool decide for you would be the wrong outcome.
- Your workflow lives on a phone and you want to stay there.
- AI actors, digital twins and generative b-roll inside the editor matter — all from Max at $24.99/month.
- Caption styling is a differentiator in your niche: 100+ templates and curated AI Edit styles.
- Your volume justifies the Scale ladder: 1,400, 2,800 and 5,600 credits at $69.99, $139.99 and $279.99.
Pick Kineo if…
- You have a topic, not a clip, and the missing step is the video existing at all.
- The format is faceless: narration over matched footage, captions, nobody on screen.
- One ratio per render fits your workflow; Kineo supports 9:16, 16:9, 1:1 and 4:5.
- You want to test the real thing before paying: 10 free credits, every engine unlocked, no card.
- Budget is the binding constraint: Kineo Starter is $9.90/month, against $24.99.
The differences that actually matter
What each one refuses to do
Kineo will not accept an uploaded video and does not expose a timeline. Captions will not turn a one-line topic into a finished narrated video with matched footage — its generative features produce elements, inside an edit you assemble. Both refusals are deliberate and neither is going to change because you wanted it to.
The watermark answer differs in an important way
Kineo watermarks free renders and every paid plan exports a clean MP4, starting at $9.90/month. The Captions pricing page does not state a watermark policy either way in what we could read. We are not going to characterise what Captions does — we are pointing out that the answer is published on one side and not the other, and that it matters if you plan to run on a free tier.
Where the footage comes from
Captions works with what you record or upload, plus generative b-roll and images from Max up. Kineo sources stock footage matched to each voiceover line, with generative engines on higher-cost render types. If the visual identity of the clip depends on your own material, Captions is the one that can use it.
Rollover, and a point we are not going to bury
Kineo credits refresh each billing month and do not roll over. The Captions pricing page does not state a rollover policy in what we could read. If your production comes in bursts — nothing for three weeks, then eight videos — Kineo’s reset is a genuine disadvantage and we would rather say it here than have you discover it in month two.
Frequently asked questions
Is Kineo cheaper than Captions?
Yes at list: Kineo Starter is $9.90/month, against Captions Max at $24.99/month. But Captions buys an editor with AI actors, generative b-roll and 100+ caption templates, which Kineo does not have. Cheaper only matters if the cheaper tool does the job you need.
Can Captions make a video from just a topic?
Its generative features from Max up can produce b-roll, images, video and voiceover, but the product is built around a clip you record or upload and edit. Turning one typed sentence into a complete narrated Short is what Kineo does end to end.
Does Kineo have caption templates?
It burns captions into its own output automatically. It does not offer anything like the 100+ caption templates or curated AI Edit styles Captions lists, and it does not accept an uploaded video to caption. If caption styling is why you are shopping, buy Captions.
Which free tier is better?
They are not comparable. Kineo: 10 free credits on signup with every engine unlocked, Kling 3 included. Trial films are watermarked; any paid plan unlocks clean downloads. Captions Free gives an editor with no AI credits and no generative AI features — less generous by capability, and it will not show you the features you would be paying for.
Do Kineo credits roll over?
No. They refresh each billing month and do not carry forward. That is a real disadvantage for irregular output and one we are not going to hide on our own comparison page.
Where we stand
This is a declared head-to-head — Kineo publishes it and Kineo is one of the two tools. Every Captions figure here came from captions.ai/pricing on July 26, 2026, including their own note that features and prices reflect iOS plans only. Verify it there. If you want an editor, Captions is an editor and Kineo is not, and we would rather lose the sale than have you arrive on the wrong tool.
Start free — 10 credits →10 free credits — every engine unlocked · No card · Starter $9.90/mo
Other comparisons
Prices, free-tier terms and limits on this page were verified on July 26, 2026 by reading each vendor’s own published pricing page, linked above. They change. Nothing here is an endorsement by, or affiliation with, Captions or Kineo, and no comparison on this site is paid for or sponsored. Kineo is a product of the same company that publishes this page, which is stated on every comparison whether or not Kineo is one of the tools being judged.